Ever wondered how HSO’s standards are developed? We have broken down the process into seven steps.

1. Identify

First, identify a need. This can be done by providers, patients or both. For instance, technological advancements in remote monitoring of health conditions may require new standards to reflect the new reality. Once a need is identified, a project proposal to create a new standard, or to update an existing one, is put forward.

2. Committee

Standards are created or reviewed by experts in the relevant field. They include researchers, care providers, patients and families, who form into a technical committee.

3. Study

The technical committee conducts preliminary research and creates a draft outline of the new or revised standard. Much of this early work can be done remotely.

4. Consensus

Once a draft is written, technical committee members formally meet in person to approve a draft for public review. This consensus is required in order to progress any further.

5. Public Review

The next step is to present the new or revised standard for public review. Anyone is welcome to provide feedback to improve its quality and ensure standards cover all relevant areas and perspectives.

6. Approve

After public review, the standard goes back to the technical committee to make amendments it deems necessary based on the feedback received. The committee then votes on the final version.

7. Publish

After the new or revised standard receives final approval from the technical committee, it is officially released. Health providers and systems may purchase it and incorporate it into their practice.


HSO builds world-class standards and innovative assessment programs, new technologies and activation services for accreditation bodies, governments, associations and others. It develops and maintains more than 100 health care and social service standards.