What's covered

The Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Standards for Clinical Services are used to assess quality at the point of service delivery. ART services are defined by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the International Committee for Monitoring Assisted Reproductive Technology (ICMART) as “all treatments or procedures that include the in vitro handling of both human oocytes and sperm, or embryos, for the purpose of establishing a pregnancy”.The standards include accessibility of ART services, assessment and diagnosis, counselling, consent, treatment, management, follow-up, and disposition. They are based upon the five key elements of Service Excellence: clinical leadership, people, process, information, and performance.

The standards contain the following sections:

  • Investing in Assisted Reproductive Technology Services
  • Having the Right People
  • Delivering Assisted Reproductive Technology Services
  • Maintaining Client Information
  • Monitoring the Safety and Quality of Assisted Reproductive Technology Services

Questions about this standard? Want more information?

Contact Us